Intent

by Albert Bridge under Creative Common License

Intent is a funny thing.  We are told that intention can
bring about myriads of change.  And it can.  But, there is a trick to intent.
That trick is that it cannot be empty words.  You can’t say, “I intend to be
happy today” or “I intend to smile all day” or, even, “I intend to accomplish
all of my to-do list today,” without FEELING these intentions.  Those feelings
have to come from deep within your soul.  They have to be woven into your fibers
in order for you to honestly and truly do what you intended to do.  Now, I am
not talking about intending to run to the mailbox, but an intention that is to
bring about deep and gratifying change; a change that reverberates through our
beings and shifts who we are. 

How often have you said you intend to X and then found
yourself at the end of the day having forgotten all about said intent?  That’s
because you didn’t FEEL it.  You didn’t focus on it.  You didn’t embed it into
your spirit, into your heart, into your mind or your soul.  You have to focus on
what you are going to get out of that intention and permeate it inwards until
you can honestly envision yourself after having followed through with that
intention.  You are your ship’s captain and no one can navigate the vessel save
you. 

All of this stems from a whirlwind set in motion by some
musings I picked up on from three different places over the course of this
week:

Abby Kerr has been educating her readers on the
difference between “unintentional mimicry” and “collective consciousness” over
at her
blog.  (Excellent reads.  I highly recommend.)  As an example, perhaps, of Abby’s
collective consciousness idea, my mom, suggested last night that I forget my
perfectionism and try to write my book without focusing on the details.  “Just
write the book, then go back and fix what needs to be done” was preceded by an
anecdote of my childhood qualms about playing softball because I wasn’t good
enough (I ended up on a travelling team…pretty good honors at the time… because
she wouldn’t let me quit).  Then, I wake up to find Justine Musk over at
Tribal Writer (creative genius and author of “BloodAngel”), discussing why perfectionism bites us in the back
instead of pushes us forward. 

Was my mom reading Justine’s blog?  No, but this shows
you how things are on people’s minds at the same time seemingly without
connection.  I digress…

What does all of this have to do with intention, you ask
in frustration with babbling? 

If we intend to make something of ourselves, be they
writers, mothers, fathers, students, or just really good people, it means taking
our perfectionism and shoving it down our throats; swallowing it and its prickly
shards.  Setting for ourselves a new intention to evolve whatever part of us it
is that we want to change and steeping in it until it is interwoven into our
hearts.  Only then, can we succumb to our intentions and emerge new and more
fabulous us-es.

What intentions have you been superficially setting forth
without FEELING them in your core?  Is your perfectionism preventing your
evolution? 

Let’s stay in touch!  Subscribe, follow me on Twitter
(@TaniaDakka), and
Facebook

© Tania Dakka and Chaotic Musing, 2011.

One comment on “Intent

  1. […] not “can.”  But, like a good garden, a good blog takes time to cultivate.  I intend to make this web one that you will be glad you are caught in.  And I WILL catch  you, my […]

Leave a Reply

